Henan Province – China Travel Guide

Henan Province – China Travel Guide

Henan (河南) is a province located in the central part of the People’s Republic of China. The capital and largest city of the province is Zhengzhou.

Although the name of the province (河南) means “South of the [Yellow] River.”, approximately a quarter of the province lies north of the Yellow River.

Henan is a birthplace of Han Chinese civilization, with over 3,200 years of recorded history and remained China’s cultural, economic and political center until approximately 1,000 years ago.

Henan Province is home to many heritage sites, including the ruins of Shang dynasty capital city Yin and the Shaolin Temple. Four of the Eight Great Ancient Capitals of China, Luoyang, Anyang, Kaifeng and Zhengzhou, are in Henan.

The practice of tai chi also began here in Chen Jia Gou Village (Chen style), as did the later Yang and Wu styles.

Video Source: Henan | China from ErhuSoul on Vimeo CC0 1.0

You Cannot Copy Content