Wonderful Nature of Uganda – Journey Southwest

Wonderful Nature of Uganda – Journey Southwest

Uganda, officially the Republic of Uganda, is a landlocked country in East Africa. The country is bordered to the east by Kenya, to the north by South Sudan, to the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, to the south-west by Rwanda, and to the south by Tanzania.

Uganda is located in southeast Africa. The geography of the country is very diverse consisting of volcanic hills, mountains, and lakes.

The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, shared with Kenya and Tanzania. Uganda is in the African Great Lakes region, lies within the Nile basin, and has a varied but a generally modified equatorial climate.

Much of the south of the country is heavily influenced by one of the world’s biggest lakes, Lake Victoria, which contains many islands. The most important cities are located in the south, near this lake, including the capital Kampala and the nearby city of Entebbe.

Lake Bunyonyi (“Place of many little birds”) is in south-western Uganda between Kisoro and Kabale, and it is close to the border with Rwanda. This scenic highlands lake with 29 verdant islands.

Lake Kyoga is in the centre of the country and is surrounded by extensive marshy areas.

Uganda has 60 protected areas, including ten national parks. It is home to a vast number of species, including a population of mountain gorillas in the Bwindi Impenetrable National Park, gorillas and golden monkeys in the Mgahinga Gorilla National Park, and hippos in the Murchison Falls National Park. Jackfruit can also be found throughout the country.

Video Source: The Uganda The Media Don’t Show You! from WODE MAYA on Youtube   CC BY

You Cannot Copy Content